Ask Me Everything - Dr. Portela (@208skindoc) Board Certified Dermatologist - Instagram Live

Comments

• Elizabeth17
    Elizabeth17 Member Posts: 4 👋 | Newcomer

What is the most rewarding aspect of being a dermatologist?

• Elizabeth17
    Elizabeth17 Member Posts: 4 👋 | Newcomer

What has been the hardest part of being a dermatologist?

• Jaicee_lake1
    Jaicee_lake1 Member Posts: 7 👋 | Newcomer

Hello Dr. Portela!

I am a highschool student currently in HOSA and I am also taking the Health Science Pathway.

I have some questions for you regarding your career in the health care field: what is the hardest thing about working in the healthcare field? What is your favorite thing about Dermatology and why? Why did you decide to go into Dermatology?

College Related: What college did you attend to get your degree? What did you major in college? From your personal experience, what was the hardest thing about achieving your degree?

Thank you so much for considering my questions and I hope to be hearing back from you!

• Jaicee_lake1
    Jaicee_lake1 Member Posts: 7 👋 | Newcomer

Greetings Dr.Portela!

Another question: what does your normal day to day work does your work life look like? How intensive is dermatology? Do you normally do surgeries or skin check ups or mole/wart removals? Or is there not really a "normal" work flow?

Thanks so much!

• delisev
    delisev Member Posts: 1 👋 | Newcomer

Hi my name is Delise Vander Horst and I was wondering if you believe all the challenges and schooling you went through was worth it to get where you are now.

• Gabby_Rivera13
    Gabby_Rivera13 Member Posts: 2 👋 | Newcomer

What led you to becoming a dermatologist?

• Gabby_Rivera13
    Gabby_Rivera13 Member Posts: 2 👋 | Newcomer

Were they any other career paths you considered and how did you know you wanted to be a dermatologist?

• hmccoy
    hmccoy Member Posts: 1 👋 | Newcomer