3 Risks of Learning to Code

alex448800alex448800 Member 👋 | Newcomer

After thinking back to my programming journey, I realized I learned a few things that could help beginner programmers. Since I have seen beginner programmers struggle with learning to code, I wanted to explain the main pains points I experienced while learning to code over the years. I hope these tips help you learn more efficiently and avoid some mistakes beginners make.

1. You will lose motivation.

After spending a few months learning to code, you might start to lose motivation. When you think of coding, you may feel exhausted as you remember how difficult it can be. You may wonder whether you will meet your expectations and whether you are good enough to become a programmer. This is how I felt when I started learning to code.

I like to think of programming as climbing a mountain. You might be full of energy as you start, and you might even climb a few hundred feet. As you look up ahead, however, it seems the peak of the mountain reaches the skies. It feels like you are climbing a never-ending mountain. When you start learning to code, you might learn a few programming concepts and feel motivated to learn more. As you look ahead to your programming career, however, you might realize you still have to learn dozens of technologies. Although programming can feel daunting, it does not have to be.

When you feel like programming is like climbing an endless mountain, think back to the reason you started programming. I started learning to code because I knew it was a great career choice; it had a great starting salary and allowed me to work from anywhere in the world. However, it also felt good. After solving a challenging problem, I was amazed at what I could learn to do. After learning how to build my first website, I was amazed at what I could create using a simple code editor and a computer. I never gave up learning because I focused on what motivated me.